Skip to main content

Vertical File Index: A-B

The South Carolina State Library maintains a print vertical file collection of information about towns, cities, counties, events, people, landmarks, and other topics relating to South Carolina.

Vertical File A-B

  • Abbeville County-Description (SCVF)
  • Abbeville Opera House (SCVF)
  • Abortion (SCVF)
  • Acadians (SCVF)
  • ACE Basin (SCVF)
  • Acid rain (SCVF)
  • Adoption (SCVF)
  • Advocates for Women on Boards and Commissions
    See: Women in politics
  • Aeronautical Museums (SCVF)
    See also: Wings and Wheels
  • AFL-CIO (SCVF)
    See also: Biography-Kirkland Lane
  • African-American Heritage Council (SCVF)
  • African American History Monument
    See: African-Americans-Monuments
  • African-American National Heritage Museum (SCVF)
  • African-American legislators (SCVF)
  • African-American women (SCVF)
    See also: Biography-Gallman, Alice Biography-Bethune, Mary McLeod, Biography-Purcell, Mae P.H.
  • African-Americans (SCVF)
  • African-Americans and libraries (SCVF)
  • African-Americans-Bibliography (SCVF)
  • African-Americans-Economic conditions (SCVF)
  • African-Americans-Flags (GVF)
  • African-Americans-History (SCVF)
  • African-Americans-Monuments (SCVF)
  • African-Americans-Politics and suffrage (SCVF)
  • African village
    See: Oyotunji
  • Aged (SCVF)
  • Agent White
    See: Herbicides
  • Agrarian reform
  • Aiken County-Description (SCVF)
  • Aiken-Description-Views (SCVF)
  • Aiken-History (SCVF)
  • Aiken-Maps (SCVF)
    See also: Augusta-Maps
  • Alamo (SCVF)
  • Alamo (San Antonio, Texas) (GVF)
  • Albuquerque, New Mexico-Maps (GVF)
  • Alcohol (GVF)
    See also: Distilling industries-Statistics
  • Alcohol-Bibliography (GVF)
    See also: Distilling industries-Statistics
  • Alcoholic beverage industry
    See: Wine and winemaking
  • Allendale County-Description (SCVF)
  • Almanacs (SCVF)
    See also: Charleston-Almanacs
  • Alston Wilkes Society (SCVF)
  • Ambassadors (SCVF)
  • American Party (SCVF)
    See also: Darlington County-Description
  • American Revolution Bicentennial, 1776-1976 (SCVF)
  • Amusement parks
  • Anderson automobile (SCVF)
  • Anderson College (SCVF)
  • Anderson County-Description (SCVF)
  • Anderson County-Historic buildings, etc. (SCVF)
  • Anderson-Description (SCVF)
  • Anderson-Historic buildings, etc. (SCVF)
  • Anderson-History (SCVF)
  • Andrea Collection (SCVF)
  • Andrew Jackson Historical State Park (SCVF)
  • Angel Oak (SCVF)
    See also: Trees
  • Animals, Protection of
    See: Wildlife protection
  • Antiquarian booksellers (SCVF)
  • Appalachian Council of Governments (SCVF)
  • Apportionment (GVF)
    See also: Election law
  • Aquariums
    See: Ripley’s Aquarium,  South Carolina Aquarium
  • Arbitron (GVF)
    See also: Television programs-Ratings
  • Archeological Society of South Carolina (SCVF)
  • Archeology (SCVF)
  • Architecture-Bibliography (SCVF)
    See also: South Carolina State Library-Bibliography
  • Architecture, Domestic (SCVF)
    See also: Wright, Frank Lloyd
  • “Aristocratic Pigs”
    See: Biography-Stewart, George Dixon
  • Archives
    See: South Carolina Department of Archives and History
  • Armed Forces-Statistics (SCVF)
  • Arthritis Foundation (SCVF)
  • Artificial Reefs (SCVF)
    See also: Fishing
  • Artists (SCVF)
    See also: Artists index
  • Association for Retarded Citizens (SCVF)
  • Astronauts (SCVF)
    See also: Biography-Bolden Charles and Biography-Duke, Charles M. and Biography-McNair, Ronald
  • AT&T Building (SCVF)
  • Atalaya
    See: Huntington Beach State Park
  • Athletes (SCVF)
    See also: South Carolina Athletic Hall of Fame
  • Atlanta, Georgia-Maps (GVF)
  • Atlantic Center for Training (SCVF)
  • Atomic bomb-Accidents (SCVF)
  • Atomic energy industries
    See: Nuclear industry
  • Atomic power plants
    See: Nuclear power plants]
  • Attorney General
    See: South Carolina Attorney General
  • Augusta-Maps (SCVF)
  • Auldbrass
    See: Wright, Frank Lloyd
  • Austin, Texas-Maps (GVF)
  • Authors (SCVF)
    See also: Authors index
  • Authors-Homes and haunts (SCVF)
  • Automobile license plates (SCVF)
  • Automobiles-Seatbelts (SCVF)
    See also: Safety Belts for South Carolina
  • Avery Research Center for African American History & Culture (SCVF)
  • Azaleas (SCVF)
  • "Baby Ray”
    See: Biography-Stewart, George Dixon
  • Baha’i Faith (SCVF)
  • Bailey Military Institute (SCVF)
  • Ballet (SCVF)
  • Baltimore, Maryland-Maps (GVF)
  • Bamberg County-Description (SCVF)
  • Bamberg County-Maps (SCVF)
  • Banks and banking (SCVF)
    See also: Electronic funds transfer system
  • Banned Books
    See: Condemned books
  • Baptists (SCVF)
  • Baptists-History (SCVF)
  • Barbecue Cookery (SCVF)
  • Barnwell County-History (SCVF)
  • Barnwell County-Industries (SCVF)
  • Barnwell Nuclear Fuel Plant (SCVF)
  • Barrett’s Retreat (SCVF)
  • Baruch Collection
    See: Bernard Baruch Collection
  • Baseball (SCVF)
  • Baseball players (SCVF)
  • BASF
    See: Beaufort County-Industries
  • Basket making (SCVF)
    See also: Biography-Basket, Nancy and Biography-Jackson, Mary
  • Batesburg-History (SCVF)
  • Batesburg-Leesville-Maps (SCVF)
  • Beach music
    See: Dancing
  • Beaufort County-Description (SCVF)
  • Beaufort County-Industries (SCVF)
  • Beaufort-Description (SCVF)
  • Beaufort-Historic buildings, etc. (SCVF)
  • Beaufort-Maps (SCVF)
  • Beaufort stew (SCVF)
  • Beautification of the landscape
    See: Landscape protection
  • Beauty contests
    See: Miss South Carolina and Miss America
  • Bed and breakfast accommodations (SCVF)
  • Beach Island (SCVF)
  • Belle Isle Plantation (SCVF)
  • Bellefield Plantation (SCVF)
    See also: Biography-Baruch, Belle
  • Bennettsville-Maps (SCVF)
  • Berkeley County-Description (SCVF)
  • Berkeley County-Industries (SCVF)
  • Berkeley County-Maps (SCVF)
  • Bernard Baruch Collection (SCVF)
  • Best Friend of Charleston
    See:  Railroads
  • Bethel A.M.E. Church (SCVF)
  • Bethel Lutheran Church (SCVF)
  • Bible
    See: Miller Bible Museum
  • Bibliography (SCVF)
    See also: South Carolina State Library Board-Bibliography
  • Bicentennial
    See: American Revolution Bicentennial, 1776-1976
  • Bicentennial wagon train
    See: American Revolution Bicentennial, 1776-1976
  • “Big Apple”
    See: Dancing
  • Bill drafting (SCVF)
  • Billings, Helen K. Foundation (SCVF)
  • Biltmore Estate (GVF)
  • Birdhouses (GVF)
  • Birds  (SCVF)
    See also: Carolina parakeet
  • Birds, Cleaning of (GVF)
  • Birmingham, Alabama-Maps (GVF)
  • Black Dahlia (Murder Case) (GVF)
  • Black Hall of Fame
    See: African-Americans
  • Blenheim (SCVF)
  • Blenheim Ginger Ale (SCVF)
  • Blind
    See: South Carolina Commission for the Blind
  • Blue laws
    See: Sunday legislation
  • Blue moon
    See: Moon
  • Blue Star Memorial Highways (SCVF)
  • Bluff Road Chemical Dump (SCVF)
  • BMW (SCVF)
  • Bob Jones University (SCVF)
  • Book awards
    See: Literary awards
  • Book Festival (SCVF)
  • Boone Hall Plantation (SCVF)
  • Boston, Massachusetts-Maps (GVF)
  • Bottles (SCVF)
  • Boundaries-North Carolina (SCVF)
  • Boykin spaniel (SCVF)
  • Branchville (SCVF)
  • Brattonsville (SCVF)
  • Bridges (SCVF)
    See also: Congaree Bridge and Covered bridges
  • Bridges-Covered
    See: Covered bridges
  • Broadmargin
    See: Wright, Frank Lloyd
  • Brookgreen Gardens
    See: Huntington, Anna Hyatt
  • Brown lung
    See: Byssinosis
  • Buckley amendment
    See: School reports
  • Budget (SCVF)
  • Bulls Island (SCVF)
  • Bus drivers (SCVF)
  • Bus terminals (SCVF)
    See also: Greyhound Bus Terminal-Charleston and Greyhound Bus Terminal-Columbia
  • Bush family (SCVF)
    See also: Biography-Pierce, Willa Gray Martin
  • Bush River Baptist Church (SCVF)
  • Business (SCVF)
    See also: Industry
  • Business Gateway (SCVF)
  • Business Hall of Fame
    See: South Carolina Business Hall of Fame
  • Byrnes, James F. Foundation
    See: Biography-Byrnes, James Francis 
  • Byssinosis (SCVF)