Skip to main content

U.S. Government Information at the South Carolina State Library: Kids and Teachers

Here is access to resources from the federal government and information on the federal documents collection at the State Library.

Learning about Government

Are federal agency websites required to post kids' pages?

In 1997 President Bill Clinton issued a memo, Expanding Access to Internet-Based Educational Resources for Children, Teachers, and Parents, directing federal agencies to develop and share online educational resources for students, teachers, and parents. Creating an agency kids' page would be one way to fulfill this requirement, and could be considered a best practice, but there are other ways to present resources for young audiences—such as a portal for teachers and parents.  Many agencies have responded positively to the memo, and now there are many websites for children or resources for teachers.  Also, the Department of Education chaired an interagency working group for education  and developed Federal Resources for Educational Excellence (FREE) as a portal for educational resources hosted or sponsored by federal agencies.  This site identifies provides links to curricula and lesson plans retrieved from various organizations, state government sites, learning resources (such as encyclopedias) and will be appropriate for use by teachers, parents, and youth.

Legislative Branch:Information and Sites

The President of the Unnited States: Information and Sites

Fine Arts and Galleries

Smithsonian Museum   Our showcase museum highlights everything Americana.  See the Kids pages for information on space, special collections and fun.

National Gallery of Art

Museum of African Art

Hirshhorn Museum

American Memory Collections: Performing Arts  includes dance manuals and folk music

Natural History Museum Among the collections are several Hands-on exhibits.

National Zoo

Portrait Gallery

Science and Math

Careers and Education Issues

Department of Labor

Education

  • FAFSA the site for students applying for federal aid for college.
  • NCES kids zone  The zone provides information on schools and colleges, libraries, and has games and quizzes to improve math skills and learn about education.

     

Health and Physical Education

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

  • Flu Resources  LOTS of material for families and children to download or print.
  • CDC Family Health    Has an excellent list of family and kid friendly webpages from CDC and other federal government entities.
  • Environmental Health Open the Menu to see links for subject pages and a great page of games and puzzles!
  • BAM! Body and Mind  An extensive website for kids!  Older kids, especially will appreciate the graphic stories and radical information.  Materials for teachers and parents are included.
  • Kids' Quest on Disability and Health

Healthfinder for Kids

Food and Drug Administration

Let's Move!  The official site to help improve the physical fitness of youth.

Communication and Literature

Library of Congress  The Library of Congress, in addition to its vast print collection, has several websites with educational resources, or kid-friendly pages.

  • Educational Resources Classroom materials and professional development guides for using the digital collections. Poetry, science, history, congressional resources. America’s Story has several activity pages on biography, events, state information, even audio. Primary Source sets has prepared collections of primary documents on favorite topics including American authors, baseball, Civil War music, Jim Crow, political cartoons, etc.
  • American Memory Timeline  This is the central educational site that develops teacher guides using online materials and primary documents to teach important events in American history.
  • Read.gov  The Center for the Book invites people of all ages to discover the joy of reading. The site allows one to open a book and hear a chapter read.
  • Poetry learning  This is an LOC webpage outlining resources which are available online for teachers.  Includes materials from American Memory collections, Lyrical Legacy of songs and poems, lesson plans, more.

History and Social Science

Words and Deeds in American History  One of the Library of Congress Memory collections. Includes ninety representative documents from the fifteenth century to the mid-twentieth century. Included are the papers of presidents, cabinet ministers, members of Congress, Supreme Court justices, military officers and diplomats, reformers and political activists, artists and writers, scientists and inventors, and other prominent Americans whose lives reflect our country's evolution. Each of several themes is the focus of a separate essay containing links to digital reproductions of selected documents.

National Archives  Explore our nation’s history through documents, photos and records.

  • The Legislative Process: Congress at Work  A complete lesson plan for explaining how Congress makes laws. (grades 7-12).
  • Teacher Resources  guidance for engaging students with primary documents.
  • DOCSTEACH  “Bring history to life for your students.” The National Archives has set up this site for teachers to create activities, find and use documents, borrow activities, videos, lesson plans and instructions. Register, then students can log into the site for a particular activity!
  • Tutorials on YouTube  These tutorials are to assist teachers in registering and using DOCSTEACH.

Ben's Guide to the U.S. Government  Ben's Guide has been around for a long time, offering information and webpages for students in 3 school age divisions, teaching materials, and help for parents.  It now includes games and puzzles and adventures. (Ben's Guide logo)

Core Documents of U.S. Democracy   Essential primary documents to teach and learn about our government.  Links include scanned images of originals.

Department of State

  • Youth and Educators The page has lists of links.  Educator resources include lesson plans for History of Democracy videos of and foreign policy.
  • Discover Diplomacy

Miscellaneous

More!

For kid-friendly websites on South Carolina, visit the State Library libguides listed below: