Open990
Provides free, searchable information about U.S. tax-exempt organizations over time.

990 Form Finder
Free resource for locating tax returns for private foundations and other nonprofits.

Foundation Directory Online Quick Start
A free, limited version of the Foundation Directory Online database.  Requires a free registration to use.

Candid
Formerly The Foundation Center. Provides news and statistical information on the world of philanthropy and directories of funders.

Guidestar
An information resource for nonprofit organizations, including a directory of nonprofits and news on nonprofit topics.  

BBB Wise Giving Alliance
Reports from the Better Business Bureau evaluating national charities.

Candid Learning
(formerly GrantSpace) Provided by Candid, provides easy-to-use, self-service tools and resources to help nonprofits worldwide become more viable grant applicants and build strong, sustainable organizations

Researching Foundation Tax Returns: A Grantseeker’s Guide
Free webinar showing how to use foundation tax returns to find out a foundation’s size, how to contact them, what type of grants they give, and who received those grants.

Grants.gov
A simple, unified “storefront” to find, apply for, and manage Federal grants.

IRS list of Charitable & nonprofit organizations
A directory of organizations eligible to receive tax-deductible charitable contributions.

Benefits.gov
For individuals - Find eligibility for federal and state government benefits.

The Center for Faith-Based and Community Initiatives (CFBCI)
The US Dept. of Health and Human Services Partnership Center works to build partnerships between government and community and faith-based organizations.

Information on grants to individuals

Information on scholarships and fellowships

Information on private elementary or secondary school funding

Scholarships for non-traditional or returning students

Information on funding as an individual artist

Information on grants to help pay for emergency medical expenses

Funding resources for individuals with disabilities

Benefits.gov
Find eligibility for federal and state government benefits.

Foundation Grants to Individuals Online
(Available only on site at the SC State Library.) Search for national and local foundations that give grants to individuals for research, education, arts, athletics, and general assistance in the Foundation Grants to Individuals database.