ABLE - Brought to you by the Idaho Commission for Libraries, these courses are designed to impart expertise in Collection Development, Technical Services, and Public Services (reference).
Booklist Online - Learning opportunities with a focus on books and reader's advisory
Infopeople - This CA library training group offers a mix of free webinars and reasonably priced online courses to meet a variety of needs. Please see the Financial Assistance tab for more information about Continuing Education Grants, which may help pay or offset the cost for online learning.
Library Learning and Creation Center - A list of CE resources on a wide variety of topics brought to you by the Colorado State Library.
Project ENABLE - A partnership of the Center for Digital Learning, School of Information Studies, and the Burton Blatt Institute at Syracuse University, these self-guided courses are designed to help librarians learn to create an inclusive and accessible environment for all people.
SABLE - Brought to you by the Idaho Commission for Libraries, these interactive courses focus on mastery of Youth Services principles in three areas : Early Childhood Services, Library Services for Children (6-12), and Young Adult Services. There are also special courses in Interlibrary Loan and Merchandising.
Tech Soup - Webinars and learning events with a focus on technology.
Webjunction - Find competencies for all aspects of librarianship, as well as webinars and courses to meet a wide variety of learning needs.
YALSA Academy - YALSA’s online educational video iproject with short training videos on a range of teen services topics.
Library Support Staff Certification - A national certification program sponsored by the American Library Association that allows library support staff to demonstrate their competencies and become a Certified Library Support Staff (CLSS).
Certified Public Library Administrator - The American Library Association certification program for librarians with three or more years of supervisory experience, who wish to enhance their skills.
Here is a list of professional conferences for which Continuing Education grant funds may be used.
For a list of regional professional conferences, please visit the Library Conference Planner
New Director Information Libguide - An informative resource guide for new South Carolina public library director
ALA Fact Sheets - 30 fact sheets about a wide variety of topics about modern librarianship.
COSLA's Public Library Director 101 series - Includes four short videos and a learning guide to cover the most important aspects of being a library director.
Library Laws, Regulations, and Attorney General Decisions - a libguide targeted to SC Legal Resources for libraries.
Survival Guide for Idaho Librarians - A comprehensive libguide for new library directors and managers created by the Idaho Commission for Libraries.
United for Libraries Friends and Foundations Fact Sheets - 31 fact sheets about starting, maintaining and growing Friends groups and Foundation boards.
Legal Issues for SC libraries - Provides information on library laws, regulations and Attorney General opinions.
E-Rate Funding - Provides information about E-Rate funding for public Libraries
State Aid to Public Libraries - Provides necessary information and forms for State Aid for public libraries.
EveryLibrary - The library Super PAC which helps to secure funding for libraries at the ballot box.
Public Libraries Trustee Libguide - An informative guide for South Carolina public library trustees.
*South Carolina Trustee Academy - A comprehensive self-guided course presented by the American Library Association which covers the roles and functions of public library trustees. This series consists of 7 videos averaging about 45 minutes in length, plus handouts and additional resources and covers : Trustee Basics, Working Effectively with the Library Director, the Library's Budget, Advocating for the Library, Evaluating the Director, and Working Effectively with Your Trustees.
*Short Takes for Library Trustees - A condensed version of the Trustee Academy, this series consists of 10 videos averaging 9 minutes in length, plus resources, covering: What It Means to Be a Trustee, Board Meetings, Board Ethics, Library Advocacy, Library Policies, Strategic Planning, Working with Friends, Evaluating the Library Director, Board Self-Evaluation, and Sucession Planning and New Board Orientation.
United For Libraries - The division of the American library association which is dedicated to Trustees, Advocates, Friends and Foundations. The site contains a number of free and for-pay resources to enhance advocacy for on behalf of public libraries, as well as links to specialized discussion areas for Friends and Foundation members, and library Trustees.
The American Library Association Office of Intellectual Freedom has updated its challenge report form to be easier to use and to cover the following types of incidents: materials challenges, Internet-related challenges, challenges about library services, patron privacy or confidentiality issues, and hate crimes. They collect data from two sources: individual and media reports. All reports are confidential.
For more about the Office of Intellectual Freedom and the reporting process, please watch this webinar.