The South Carolina State Library is a member of the Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP). The FDLP was established by Congress to ensure public access to American Government information. Our collection of Federal publications is available for use by visitors, and physical items may be loaned to cardholders and to other libraries. The State Library is a selective depository; we choose items based on the needs of state employees, South Carolina government legislators, and the needs and interests of our local communities. Our collection is strong in the areas of agriculture, laws and regulations, the census, health, the national parks system, and defense. We also strive to obtain all items on any topic relating to South Carolina.
We collect items in a variety of formats including print collections, kits, maps, DVDs, and electronic publications. Electronic titles are listed in our online catalog with an attached link. Some individual publications about South Carolina have been entered into our South Carolina Federal Documents Digital Collection. Please contact us for more information about federal government publications. Our Reference staff will be happy to assist you.
About the FDLP: The United States Government is the largest publisher in the world. Every day the U.S. Government issues congressional bills, laws, regulations, presidential documents, studies, and more on a variety of topics. The FDLP was established by Congress to ensure that the American public has access to its Government's information. The FDLP is administered by the U.S. Government Publishing Office (GPO).
The authority for the Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP) and the legal obligations of designated Federal depository libraries are found in 44 United States Code §§1901‐1916.
Federal Depository Libraries in South Carolina:
South Carolina State Library, Columbia
Robert Muldrow Cooper Library, Clemson University
Law Library, University of South Carolina, Columbia
Miller F. Whittaker Library, South Carolina State University, Orangeburg
Medford Library, University of South Carolina, Lancaster
Thomas Cooper Library, University of South Carolina, Columbia (Regional depository library)
Daniel Library, The Citadel Military College, Charleston
Headquarters Library, Spartanburg County Public Libraries, Spartanburg
Florence County Library, Florence
Addlestone Library, College of Charleston, Charleston
Benjamin F. Payton Learning Resource Center, Benedict College, Columbia
Larry A. Jackson Library, Lander University, Greenwood
James B. Duke Library, Furman University, Greenville
Greenville County Library System, Greenville
Dacus Library, Winthrop University, Rock Hill
Gregg-Graniteville Library, University of South Carolina, Aiken
James A. Rogers Library, Francis Marion University, Florence
Kimbel Library, Coastal Carolina University, Conway
FDLP content consists of:
Tangible resources (including print, microfiche, and CD-ROMs) that our library has selected through the FDLP and has available in the library. Cataloged items can be found through the SCLENDS catalog.
Online only publications available in the Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP). Among many other resources, these include:
FDLP Basic Collection. These are selected, core U.S. Government publications that are vital sources of information supporting the public's right to know about the working and essential activities of the Federal Government. Every Federal Depository Library is required to have the titles in this list available for immediate use. The list is updated periodically.
Official online content partnership resources from library or Federal agency partners who have made online content available for free, public access. Content is available through bibliographic records in the CGP. Some content is also in govinfo.
Agency subscription databases, currently only the Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL). Depository libraries have no-fee access to the full database. Each interested library must register for access.
U.S. Census Reports. The Library has representation of the public editions (statistics, not personal names) of most of the deicennial censuses since 1790 for population, housing and agriculture. All Census reports can be found through the online catalog, SCLENDS. Early census publications were issued by the U.S. Department of the Interior (SuDoc I). Later census volumes were issued by the U.S. Department of Commerce (SuDoc C). Our holdings after 1900 do not have family names. For genealogy research, please contact our South Carolina Department of Archives and History, or any of our county libraries.
Statistical Abstract of the United States / prepared by the chief of the Bureau of Statistics, Treasury Department.
United States. Dept. of the Treasury. Bureau of Statistics. (Added Author). United States. Dept. of Commerce and Labor. Bureau of Statistics. (Added Author). United States. Bureau of Foreign and Domestic Commerce. (Added Author). United States. Bureau of the Census. (Added Author). U.S. Census Bureau. (Added Author). 1938-2012.
Historical Statistics of the United States, 1789-1945 / prepared by the Bureau of the Census with the cooperation of the Social Science Research Council.
The Official Military Atlas of the Civil War / Davis, George B. (George Breckenridge) 1847-1914 (author.) . Perry, Leslie J., (author). Kirkley, Joseph W. (Joseph William), 1841-1912 (author.). Cowels, Calvin D. (Calvin Duvall), 1849- (compiler.). Somers, Richard, (author of introduction.). United States. War Department. (Added Author).
The War of the Rebellion: a compilation of the official records of the Union and Confederate armies / Pub. under the direction of the ... Secretary of War ...United States. War Dept. (Author). Scott, Robert N. (Robert Nicholson), 1838-1887 (Added Author). Lazelle, Henry Martyn, 1832- (Added Author). Davis, George B. (George Breckenridge), 1847-1914 (Added Author). Perry, Leslie J. (Added Author). Kirkley, Joseph W. (Joseph William), 1841-1912 (Added Author). Ainsworth, Frederick Crayton, 1852-1934 (Added Author). Moodey, John S. (John Sheldon), (Added Author). Cowles, Calvin D. (Calvin Duvall), 1849- (Added Author). United States. War Records Office. (Added Author). United States. Record and Pension Office. (Added Author). United States. Congress. House. (Added Author).
The Official Atlas of the Civil War. Introd. by Henry Steele Commager. United States. War Dept. (Author). United States. War Dept.
The Official Records of the Union and Confederate Navies in the War of the Rebellion. ser. I, v. 1-27, ser. II, v.1 - 3 / United States Navy Department. (Author). Rush, Richard, 1848-1912 (Added Author). United States. Naval War Records Office. (Added Author).
World War II records; First division, A. E. F., regular. United States. Army. Division,1st. (Author). v.1-25, German Documents V1, 3, 4
Report of the Joint select committee to inquire into the condition of affairs in the late insurrectionary states, so far as regards the execution of the laws, and safety of the lives and property of the citizens of the United States and Testimony taken / United States. Congress. Joint Select Committee on the Condition of Affairs in the Late Insurrectionary States. 1872. v.1-13.
Vital Statistics of the United States / National Center for Health Statistics (U.S.). Division of Vital Statistics. (Added Author). United States. National Vital Statistics Division. (Added Author). United States. National Office of Vital Statistics. (Added Author). United States. Bureau of the Census. Vital Statistics Division. (Added Author).1940-2002.
The vital statistics of the United States : embracing the tables of deaths, births, sex and age, to which are added the statistics of the blind, the deaf and dumb, the insane, and the idiotic, compiled from the original returns of the ninth census, (June 1, 1870,) under the direction of the Secretary of the Interior / by Francis A. Walker.
United States. Census Office. 9th census, 1870. (Author). Walker, Francis Amasa, 1840-1897 (Added Author). United States. Census Office. (Added Author).
A compilation of the messages and papers of the presidents, 1789-1897. Pub., by authority of Congress, by James D. Richardson. United States. President. (Author). Richardson, James D. (James Daniel), 1843-1914 (Added Author).
|
A compilation of the messages and papers of the Presidents 1897-1917 / prepared under the direction of the Joint Committee on Printing, of the House and Senate, pursuant to an act of the Fifty-second Congress of the United States (with additions and encyclopedia index by private enterprise). United States. President. cn (Author). Richardson, James D. (James Daniel), 1843-1914 cn (Added Author). United States. Congress. Joint Committee on Printing. (Added Author). Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States. 1984 to present. Cumulative papers of the U.S. Presidents. United States Statutes at Large / compiled, edited, and indexed by authority of Congress under the direction of the Secretary of State.United States. (Author). United States. Dept. of State. (Added Author). United States. Office of the Federal Register. (Added Author). V. 36- V117. |
