Can't get to the SC State Library? We are offering virtual appointments for assistance in grants research.
For any questions regarding grants research you may also contact us by email.
Looking for emergency funding for your nonprofit? Candid has information on philanthropy’s response to the pandemic and sources of funding.
Grants Research: Finding a Funder for Your Nonprofit Organization
Friday, October 20, 2023 11:00AM - 12:00PM
Grant Writing: Creating a Winning Proposal
Thursday, October 5, 2023 10:30AM - 12:00PM
Check out these free webinars and tutorials from Candid
Questions? Please email us here
Books and eBooks on fund raising, grant writing and nonprofit management:
In the SCLENDS catalog (or in the local library catalogs) look under the subjects:
“Fund Raising”, “Nonprofit organizations”, or “Proposal Writing for Grants”
Candid's Funding Information Network partners provide grant seekers free access to materials and services in libraries, community foundations, and other nonprofit resource centers worldwide. Candid provides each network partner with an extensive collection of information and publications for grant-seeking nonprofit organizations.
The Charleston County Library, Florence County Library, Greenville County Library, Spartanburg County Library, and the South Carolina State Library are Funding Information Network partners in South Carolina. Other nearby partners are the Community Foundation for the CSRA in Augusta, Georgia, and the Charlotte Mecklenburg Library in Charlotte, North Carolina.
The 2014 edition of the South Carolina Foundation Directory is available for downloading. This is the most current online edition available as of December 2020. The 2014 edition includes South Carolina foundations that accept proposals.
An alternative to this South Carolina Directory is the Foundation Directory Online database. It’s a national directory of foundations, and covers South Carolina. It’s available at the SC State Library and at several other libraries in South Carolina (see below for more). A free version, FDO Essential, is also available and included all South Carolina foundations (see link above). It is updated monthly.
The South Carolina State Library publishes the South Carolina Foundation Directory every few years to assist South Carolinians in their search for funds to support the programs and projects of their organizations. For assistance regarding the 2014 Directory, please contact Information Services staff at (803) 734-8026 or us email here.
Please note that individual assistance for grants research is available at the SC State Library, however, we ask that you make an appointment with library staff first in order to confirm staff availability and an appointment time. Please contact us by email or use the link above to make a virtual appointment.
The South Carolina State Library is a Funding Information Network partner of Candid.
The Grants Research Collection at the South Carolina State Library is designed to assist nonprofit organizations and individuals seeking grant funding from private and corporate foundations and government agencies.
The Collection includes resources for finding foundation and government grant programs, the grantseeking and proposal writing process, nonprofit organization management, and general fund raising strategies.