Explore freely available educational and research tools provided by the U.S. Government. These resources are organized by audience and topic to help students, educators, and the general public engage with federal information.
GovInfo is a one-stop site for official information from all three branches of the Federal Government. Search, browse, and download over 2 million U.S. Government publications.
DiscoverGov is a unified interface for trusted Government information searching across multiple U.S. Federal Government databases, including the CGP and GovInfo.
The Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP) is a finding tool for historic and current documents produced by the U.S. Government. Search results show bibliographic information about publications and links to digital publications when available.
Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) is the official U.S. Department of Education portal used to apply for federal student financial aid. It provides access to grants, loans, and work-study funds for eligible students pursuing higher education.
Fun, interactive sites created by federal agencies to help learn about government, science, history, and the environment.
| Resource | Description |
| Ben’s Guide to the U.S. Government (U.S. Government Publishing Office) | Introduces students to the U.S. government’s structure, symbols, and functions through grade-level guides. |
| Kids Environment Kids Health (Environmental Protection Agency) | Activities and facts for kids on health, science, and how to care for the planet. |
| EPA Games, Quizzes, and More (Environmental Protection Agency) | Online environmental games and activities designed to teach sustainability and science. |
| Energy Kids (U.S. Energy Information Administration) | Includes games, energy calculators, and educational content on energy sources for students and teachers. |
| NASA Kids' Club (National Aeronautics and Space Administration) | Features space-themed games, videos, and educational missions for younger students. |
| U.S. Mint for Kids – H.I.P. Pocket Change Site (U.S. Mint) | Teaches coin history and money concepts through games and resources for kids. |
| Kids in the House (U.S. House of Representatives) | An engaging site about the legislative process and history of the House of Representatives. |
| NCES Kids' Zone (National Center for Education Statistics) | Offers fun facts, quizzes, and data tools for students interested in math and statistics. |
| Statistics in Schools – History Worksheets (U.S. Census Bureau) | Provides ready-to-use worksheets and historical data to bring statistics into social studies classrooms. |
| Every Kid Outdoors (U.S. Department of the Interior) | Offers 4th graders free access to national parks and public lands, promoting outdoor education. |
The U.S. Congress has designated five national libraries to serve as leading repositories of federal knowledge. These libraries support education, research, public health, agriculture, and transportation across the country.
| National Library | Information |
| Library of Congress (LC) | Established in 1800, LC is the largest library in the world, supporting Congress and the public. |
| National Agricultural Library (NAL) | Established in 1962, NAL provides access to vital agricultural research and data. |
| National Library of Education (NLE) | Created in 1994 to collect and share information that supports education and achievement. |
| National Library of Medicine (NLM) | Founded in 1956, NLM is the world’s largest biomedical library and a leader in medical information. |
| National Transportation Library (NTL) | Established in 1998 to provide transportation data for decision-making at all levels. |
Useful tools for students, teachers, and researchers seeking accurate data and historical resources.
Math Statistics for Schools (U.S. Census Bureau)
Introduces students to math and data literacy through engaging, grade-specific content.
U.S. Facts and Figures (USA.gov)
An overview of national facts, figures, and quick links to federal resources.
Libraries and Archives
Search for local libraries or explore national archives and collections.
Cornerstone Documents (U.S. Government Publishing Office)
Foundational federal documents such as the Constitution and Declaration of Independence.
Educator Resources (National Archives and Records Administration)
Primary sources, lesson plans, and professional development tools for educators.
Congress.gov (Library of Congress)
Track federal legislation, bills, and committee activity in real-time.
