Subject Guides: South Carolina History: Geography

Map of South Carolina

From Merriam-Webster's Geographical Dictionary

Myrtle Beach

Myrtle Beach, a major tourist destination in South Carolina.

ACE Basin National Estuarine Research Reserve

From The Greenwood Encyclopedia of American Regional Cultures: The South

ACE Basin National Estuarine Research Reserve. Interior wetlands on Ace Basin island, 45 miles south of Charleston, South Carolina. Courtesy NOAA National Estuarine Research Reserve Collection.

Places

Beaufort
From The Hutchinson Unabridged Encyclopedia
City and administrative headquarters of Beaufort County in southern South Carolina.
Charleston: Topic Page
City and main port in southeastern South Carolina.
Columbia: Topic Page
Capital of South Carolina, on the Congaree River.
Hilton Head Island
From The Hutchinson Unabridged Encyclopedia
Island in the Sea Islands group, situated in the Atlantic Ocean, 32 km/20 mi northeast of Savannah, Georgia.
Parris Island
From The Hutchinson Unabridged Encyclopedia
Part of the Sea Islands group, in southern-central South Carolina, USA, on Port Royal Sound,
Sea Islands: Topic Page
Chain of more than 100 low islands off the Atlantic coast of S.C., Ga., and N Fla., extending from the Santee River to the St. Johns River.

Natural Features

Appalachian Mountains: Topic Page
Mountain system in eastern North America, stretching about 2,400 km/1,500 mi from Alabama to Québec.
Atlantic Ocean: Topic Page
The Atlantic Ocean extends in an S shape from the arctic to the antarctic regions between North and South America on the west and Europe and Africa on the east.
Blue Ridge Mountains: Topic Page
Mountain range in southeastern USA, and part of the Appalachian Mountains system.
Great Pee Dee River
From Field Guide to Rivers of North America
Special features: broad hardwood floodplain forests in Coastal Plain; Lumber River tributary is National Wild and Scenic River; Lumber and Lynches rivers are among few natural free-flowing rivers in coterminous 48 states
Piedmont
From The Hutchinson Unabridged Encyclopedia
Elevated area of the eastern USA, running northeast–southwest from New Jersey to central Alabama.
Santee River
From Field Guide to Rivers of North America
Special features: second largest river basin on Atlantic coast of United States
Savannah River
From Field Guide to Rivers of North America
Special features: broad forested floodplain swamp throughout the Coastal Plain

Environmental Issues

South Carolina's Energy Use
From U.S. Land & Natural Resources Policy: A Public Issues Handbook
Quick Facts: South Carolina's four nuclear power plants typically supply more than one-half of the State's electricity generation.